Skip to main content

Vacancy Details

Grade: 0

No questions specified.

Grade: All Grades

1 What is the name of your college/university? Maximum length of 500 characters. Answer to this question is required
2 Where is your college or university location (city,state)? Maximum length of 500 characters. Answer to this question is required
3 From the provided options, select the choice which best describes your college/university. Answer to this question is required
  • Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institution
  • Community or Junior College
  • Hispanic-Serving Institution
  • Historically Black College or University (HBCU's)
  • Military Academy
  • Tribal College or University (TCCU's)
  • Other
4 What is your current class standing by year? For example, a first year student is defined as a freshman,
a second year student as a sophomore, a third year student as a junior, and 4 (or more) years as a
senior. Answer to this question is required
  • Freshman
  • Sophomore
  • Junior
  • Senior
5 What is your major? Answer to this question is required
  • Biochemistry
  • Biological Sciences
  • Chemistry
  • Computer Science
  • Engineering
    5.1 From the options listed, which field of engineering closely relates to your major?
    • Aerospace Engineering
    • Chemical Engineering
    • Civil Engineering
    • Computer Engineering
    • Biomedical Engineering
    • Electrical Engineering
    • Environmental Engineering
    • Materials Engineering
    • Mechanical Engineering
  • Forensic Science
  • Materials Science
  • Mathematics
  • Physics
  • Statistics
  • Other
6 Do you have a second major? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
    6.1 What is your second major?
    • Biochemistry
    • Biological Sciences
    • Chemistry
    • Computer Science
    • Engineering
    • Forensic Science
    • Materials Science
    • Mathematics
    • Physics
    • Statistics
    • Other
  • No
7 Do you have a minor? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
    7.1 List the name of your minor. Maximum length of 250 characters.
  • No
8 Please indicate your overall cumulative G.P.A. based on the provided options Answer to this question is required
  • 3.75-4.00
  • 3.50-3.75
  • 3.25-3.49
  • 3.00-3.24
  • Below 3.00
9 Please select your major G.P.A. Answer to this question is required
  • 3.75-4.00
  • 3.50-3.75
  • 3.25-3.49
  • 3.00-3.24
  • Below 3.00
10

The following NIST operating units participate in the SURF program in Boulder, Colorado: Communications Technology Laboratory (CTL),  Information Technology Laboratory (ITL), Material Measurement Laboratory (MML), and Physical Measurement Laboratory (PML).  All applicants must identify and select the top six research opportunities of interest in order of preference from two different divisions from the participating operating units. A list of current research opportunites can be found at  https://www.nist.gov/summer-undergraduate-research-fellowship-surf/surf-boulder/research-opportunities.  

I acknowledge, the research opportunity preferences are at the sole discretion of the applicant and cannot be changed after the application is submitted.

Answer to this question is required
  • Agree
  • Disagree
11 Indicate your first choice research opportunity preference from the projects described at https://www.nist.gov/surf/surfboulder/research-opportunities. For example, 647-1 Development of Novel Alternative Fuels. Maximum length of 500 characters. Answer to this question is required
12 Indicate your second choice research opportunity preference from the projects described at https://www.nist.gov/surf/surfboulder/research-opportunities. For example, 647-1 Development of Novel Alternative Fuels. Maximum length of 500 characters. Answer to this question is required
13 Indicate your third choice research opportunity preference from the projects described at https://www.nist.gov/surf/surfboulder/research-opportunities. For example, 647-1 Development of Novel Alternative Fuels. Maximum length of 500 characters. Answer to this question is required
14 Indicate your fourth choice research opportunity preference from the projects described at https://www.nist.gov/surf/surfboulder/research-opportunities. For example, 647-1 Development of Novel Alternative Fuels. Maximum length of 500 characters. Answer to this question is required
15 Indicate your fifth choice research opportunity preference from the projects described at https://www.nist.gov/surf/surfboulder/research-opportunities. For example, 647-1 Development of Novel Alternative Fuels. Maximum length of 500 characters. Answer to this question is required
16 Indicate your sixth choice research opportunity preference from the projects described at https://www.nist.gov/surf/surfboulder/research-opportunities. For example, 647-1 Development of Novel Alternative Fuels. Maximum length of 500 characters. Answer to this question is required
17 Are you available during the entire 11-week program scheduled May 24, 2021-August 6, 2021? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
    17.1 If no, indicate availability dates. Note: Length of participation is required to be 11 weeks. Maximum length of 500 characters.
18 Have you previously participated in the NIST SURF program? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
    18.1 Please list the mentor's name(s), laboratory affiliation, and the most recent year of participation in the program. For example, Dr. Jane Smith, CTL, 2017. Maximum length of 300 characters.
    18.2 If you were to return, would you prefer to work with the same mentor?
    • Yes
    • No
    • No Preference
  • No
19 Have you previously conducted research at NIST under another program excluding SURF? This includes participation in the SHIP, PREP, or a volunteer program. Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
    19.1 If so, please indicate the affiliated program, mentor's name, and most recent year of participation. For example, SHIP, Dr. Jane Smith, 2016. Maximum length of 300 characters.
    19.2 If you were to return, would you prefer to work with the same mentor?
    • Yes
    • No
    • No Preference
  • No
20 Did you apply to the 2020 SURF Program? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
    20.1 Did you receive an offer to participate in the 2020 SURF Program from a sponsoring NIST Lab?
    • Yes
    • No
  • No
21 Please indicate if you have experience in the following computer languages. Answer to this question is required
  • C
  • C++
  • Java
  • Python
  • Other
  • None of the above
22 Please indicate your experience in other computer languages. Maximum length of 500 characters. Answer to this question is required
23 Please indicate if you have experience with the following specialized software. Answer to this question is required
  • LabView
  • Mathematica
  • Matlab
  • Other
  • None of the above
24 Please list other specialized software which you have experience. Maximum length of 300 characters. Answer to this question is required
25 Do you have skills/experience with advanced laboratory techniques or equipment? Note: The skills/experience can be obtained through coursework or on-the-job training. Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
    25.1 Briefly provide information about your skills/experience with advanced laboratory techniques or equipment. Please include specific details in your resume. Maximum length of 300 characters.
  • No
26 List any other special skills not previously mentioned (e.g. hands-on skills with tools, special projects, tutoring experience, extracurricular activities, leadership positions). Maximum length of 600 characters. Answer to this question is required
27 All research for the virtual SURF Program will be conducted on a desktop computer or laptop.  Do you have a personal laptop or computer with updated anti-virus software?  Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
28 All research opportunities in the virtual SURF Program require internet connection to access the NIST network. Do you have access to reliable internet? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
29 Would you like to address any extenuating circumstances which has not been mentioned elsewhere in your application or supporting documents which would be beneficial in reviewing your application? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
    29.1 If so, please express extenuating circumstances in the provided space. Maximum length of 600 characters.
  • No
30 Are you considering applying on behalf of the SURF Program in Gaithersburg, MD? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
31 I understand that the SURF Program is occurring virtually for Summer 2021. Thus, if I accept an offer to participate in SURF, my fellowship will consist of a stipend only. Note: The fellowship does not include a housing allowance and commuting subsidy for the 2021 Program. Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
32 If invited to participate in the NIST SURF Program, I acknowledge that I must submit an abstract (due half-way through the program) and deliver an oral presentation at the SURF Colloquium (final week of the program). Answer to this question is required
  • Agree
  • Disagree
33 If invited to participate in the NIST SURF Program, I acknowledge that I am required to undergo a background check. Answer to this question is required
  • Agree
  • Disagree
34 If invited to participate in the program, I acknowledge that I am required to bring the mandated identification with me for entry to NIST on the first day of the program in accordance with the Visitor's Center Policy (https://www.nist.gov/about-nist/visit/campus-access-and-security). Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
35 If invited to participate in the NIST SURF Program, I acknowledge that I am required to show proof of health insurance coverage by attaching a copy of my insurance card in the supporting documents of this announcement and maintain health insurance coverage during my 11-weeks of participation in the program. Answer to this question is required
  • Agree
  • Disagree
36 If I accept an offer to participate in the program, I acknowledge my commitment to participate. If I withdraw my offer after committing to the program, I may be eliminated from consideration for future SURF fellowships. Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
37 Did you check the list of required documents? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
    37.1 I understand that a complete application submission includes two (2) letters of recommendation submitted by the closing of the vacancy announcement. Furthermore, I understand that it is my responsibility to notify references through the online application system to submit letters on my behalf. Note: NIST will not accept hard copy letters or letters sent as e-mail attachments.
    • Agree
    • Disagree
  • No
38 I confirm that the information provided in this application and supporting documents are true, complete, and accurate. If my application is found to contain false information, my application will be removed from consideration for a fellowship. Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
Diversity Information 
We collect information pertaining to race and ethnicity to determine if our equal employment opportunity efforts are reaching all segments of the population, consistent with Federal equal employment opportunity laws. 
Responses to these questions are voluntary.
39 What is your race? Select one or more. Answer to this question is required
  • American Indian or Alaska Native
  • Asian
  • Black or African American
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
  • White or Caucasian
  • I decline to provide information pertaining to my race.
40 Are you Hispanic or Latino? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes, I am Hispanic or Latino.
  • No, I am not Hispanic or Latino.
  • I decline to provide my ethnicity information.
41 How did you hear about the SURF Program? Answer to this question is required
  • Career Fair at University/College
  • Professional Conference
  • E-mail from university/college's staff
  • Previous SURF Participant
  • Internet search
  • Other